2.10.2009

Is Resident Evil 5 racist?

OK well here is the thing. On IGN.com it is said that many people are finding this new video game' Resident Evil 5' racist because the bad guys are indeed African-American. Now the basic idea of the video game 'Resident Evil' is about killing zombies and the zombies in 'Resident Evil 5' are African-American. Now my personal thought is, if people were complaining about 'Resident Evil 5' being racist because the zombies are African-American then why didn't people find 'Resident Evil 4' racist? 'Resident Evil 4' is basically the same thing as 'Resident Evil 5' but the only difference is that the zombies are Latino/Hispanic. Now since people didn't complain about 'Resident Evil 4' being racist then there is no reason to find 'Resident Evil 5' racist. It is also pointed out in IGN.com that just because we have an African-American President it doesn't mean that people should start complaining about killing African-Americans in video games. Plus your partner in the video game, Sheva, is African-American. So there is no need to complain especially when there is an African-American hero in the video game. 

Here is one comment posted by an IGN Exclusive Member:
I think it was taken the wrong way; I think most people find it racist cause your shooting blacks the whole game. To be honest, if their was a zombie chasing me, I would shoot it, regardless of skin color, so this isn't against blacks at all.
Posted by:  zacker-zacker on February 10, 2009 20:20 PDT

What do you think about this argument?
Would you find the game to be racist?

Here is the URL to the argument of 'Resident Evil 5'
http://xbox360.ign.com/articles/953/953114p1.html

No comments: